What is ITIL?

What is ITIL?

ITIL is Information Technology and Infrastructure library, but what is this library and where did it come from? To find this out, we have to look back in the history.

It is known that ITIL is the only framework currently followed in the market for managing the service lifecycle and the IT service management (ITSM). Its not a standard but set of best practices that helps organisation as to what can be done to improve the processes and its associated activities.


1986 – Central Computer and Telecommunications Agency (CCTA) authorised a program to develop a common approach to develop operational guidance which can help increase IT efficiency.

1988 – Government Information Technology Infrastructure Management Method (GITIMM) was formed and issued guidelines for government IT operations in the UK

1989 – GITIMM was renamed to ITIL, since ‘G’ was government which made difficult to market freely and ‘M’ was method was removed.

1989 – 1996 – More than 30-40 ITILv1 books were published

1991 – ISEB and EXIN came up with first ITIL qualification

1998 -1999 – ITIL version 2 was announced

2000 – Service support and service delivery was published considering there
were more than 30 books at the time, which helped in categorisation of the support and delivery processes

2001 – CCTA became a part of Office of Government Commerce (OGC) who owned the ITIL framework

2002-2006 – ITILv2 glossary published

2007 – ITILv3 was finally introduced and qualifications schemes were agreed.
This contained 5 set of books with different process categorisation in different lifecycle stages

1) Service Strategy
2) Service Design
3) Service Transition
4) Service Operations
5) Continual Service Improvement

2010 – ITILv2 was ceased

2011 – Updated edition of ITILv3 was introduced with new processes added and minor changes to existing processes and finally ITIL 2011 was introduced

2013 till date – ITIL owned by Axelos

Leave a Reply